Posted by: ghostdawg2 | April 28, 2009

Is Davao,Mindanao Island,Philippines Safe??? by Mindanao Bob

Ok, so you are thinking of visiting Davao City.  You’ve heard things about Davao, though, right?  You’ve heard that it is very dangerous in Davao, and that is making you reevaluate your decision to visit Davao. 

I know that this is the case for many people, because through my various websites on the Internet, I get e-mails from dozens of people with such fears.

Let me lay your fears to rest.  Davao is safe.  I am an American, and I’ve lived in Davao City since 2002.  I can attest with certainty that Davao City is very safe!  I believe that Davao is as safe as nearly any City in the United States, and safer than many.  I have a lot of American friends who live here too, and they feel the same.

Davao does have a history of safety issues, but that is 20+ years ago!  Things have changed a lot since the late 1980’s.  We have a real law and order Mayor here who does not tolerate criminal activity.  Crime is not tolerated in Davao, and the criminals know that.  If they can’t live without breaking the law, they generally go elsewhere.

So, I encourage you, come and visit Davao!  It’s a wonderful place, and is widely known these days as the safest City in the Philippines.  Come and find out for yourself!

source : http://www.wowdavao.com/content/2008/11/is-davao-safe/

Responses

  1. Hello Bob,
    I am thinking about building a resort near Cagwait Beach. Have you been up to Tandag City and Cagwait Beach. Would you consider those areas to be safe. I hear the bad buggers are over in Zamboanga. Do I have to bring my boomerangs?
    Regards, Garry.


Leave a Reply

Categories